why have bunnies blow terrorists away?

Yes, back on my Apocalypse Meow theme again.

I don’t know who Patrick Macias is, but I intend to soon. Anyway, he claims the series objective is:

… the development of real and fierce combat by cute and fluffy animals. In these days when people have become too used to seeing people die in movies, we wish to use cute animals as the characters to give viewers a stronger feeling of the misery of the wars that are taking place in this world.

I don’t actually believe this. I think this is a classic case of it not being PC to say “I think watching bunny rabbits blow away terrorists is wicked cool in and of itself. I also believe it demonstrates the absurdities of contemporary life — among them that we can’t call people who would saw off our heads if they had the chance ‘enemies’ — in a way that I and a lot of unheard people out there will find deeply satisfying.” After all, if someone’s mom reads that, Taro can’t buy the DVD, whereas if mom reads that it’s a protest against war, he’ll be sure to get it.

Go on!

4 Responses to “why have bunnies blow terrorists away?”

  1. I don’t really buy Macias’s thesis either. It sounds like a lot of the ooey-gooey PCish stuff we all hear on campus, where heaven forbid anyone ever calls a spade a spade because you’ll get in trouble for spade-o-phobia. Plus I don’t think the use of cutesypoo critters is about the shock value per se in terms of “oh, it’s a metaphor”! The cute factor in Apocalypse Meow seems to be part of “this is freaking awesome in its unbridled wackiness” factor. Does Macias know anything about anime/manga? It’s a violent world (e.g., Akira, Fist of the North Star, etc.)

    Call me an unregenerate warmonger if you feel you must, but I really don’t have any problem with seeing people blow away terrorists. (I’m tired actually of fighting them with one hand tied behind our collective back to mollify the hand-wringers.) Anyway, as for the Rambo Rabbit Rampage scenario, the fact that the people dishing out the punishment to the bad guys are cute bunnies just makes the experience even BETTER, since (post-Watership Down) bunnies are usually the ones getting eaten.

    Oh, I am so hoping there will be little stuffed toy versions of Packy and Botasky!

    I can’t wait for the entire 12-episode series.

  2. Hey, I’ll call you an unregenerate warmonger just ‘cuz I like you; there’s no need to bring moral imperatives into it!

    According to his site, Macias has published a bunch of stuff on Japanese pop culture over the last decade or so. That quote is the type of thing Japanese PR people are quite likely to say; they may even believe it. I just don’t think it’s necessarily what the writer or artists are really doing, and it’s even more dubious that it’s what their fanbase is buying it for.

    And stuffed toy versions, esp. Packy w/ sniper rifle, would totally rock! (Granted, he needs a Barret .50 cal, but …)

  3. Ooops! I mean, Botasky w/ a sniper rifle!

  4. […] 4: New posts on this topic – why have bunnies blow terrorists away, English version manga $175, and video with English subtitles, so you can check my […]

Leave a Reply

